Sunday, March 18, 2012

2012 Datec (Fiji) Ltd. Summer Cup Final Round – Saturday 17th March 2012

CEO Datec (Fiji) Ltd. Mr. H. Danford and Filimone Kau (Left, Sitting) at Prize Giving Ceremony
FGC Captain Filinone Kau (Middle)
Thipait Hussein (Right)
One hundred twenty golfers enjoyed the final round of the 2012 Datec Summer Cup under light showers and on a cool Saturday 17th March. As predicted, it was a closely contested finish between the top twenty players on the leaderboard.
Datec Summer Cup Champion 2012, Rajesh Kumar Raj (Right)
 Finally, ANZ Bank officer, Rajesh Kumar Raj, 19 match points, had managed to snick into the leaderboard from one of the joint third places to win the 2012 Datec (Fiji) Ltd. Summer Cup from Arvind Goundar and Juni Joe by one match point. Goundar collected second prize on countback from Joe, who won a third prize.

It has been a closely contested event over the last eight weeks.

At the prize giving ceremony, the FGC Captain, Filimone Kau expressed on behalf of the club, his appreciation and thanked Datec (Fiji) Ltd. for their sponsorship of the event for the last ten (10) years. CEO for Datec (Fiji) Ltd. Hanz Danford, in his response had confirmed Datec would continue its sponsorship of the event again next year.
Eric Nand (Right)
A Suva business man and die hard golf enthusiast, Eric Nand had done it again in two straight weeks. He shot beautiful 4 over, 76 to win an overall gross prize on Saturday.

Thipait Hussein, 67 nett, won Men’s A grade on Saturday. The second prize for the grade was won by Mohammed Rizwan, 68 nett, while Mohammed Rafik, 71 nett colllected the third prize in the grade.
Ratu Epeli (Right)
The President of Fiji and a diehard golfer, Ratu Epeli Nailatikau, 67 nett, won men’s B grade by a big margin from Frank Chan, 70 nett and Michael Andrews, 72 nett. Andrews won the third prize on countback.
Josefa Dulakiverata, 65 nett, who has been playing well in recent days, won a first prize in the men’s C grade. The winner of 2012 Datec Summer Cup, Rajesh Raj, 67 nett, won a second prize on countback from Fr. Etuweni Rasiosateki, who had to settle for a third prize.
Joe Dulakiverata (left) 
Maggie Browne (Right)
Tukai Tuivuna (Rght)
Tomasi Tuivuna, played 1 under 71 recorded his third straight consecutive win on Saturday to win in the professional division.  
Merelita Mc Carthy, 75 nett, won the prize in the ladies’ silver division, while Margret Browne, 86 nett, won ladies’ bronze division.

Susau Managreve and B C Lim won nearest-to-pin prizes for the second and twelfth holes, respectively.

Susau Managreve (Right)

In the meantime, the 2012 FGC Season Opening 4-man
Progressive Ambrose, which is sponsored by ANZ Bank will be played on Saturday 24th March 2012. Entry
forms and other details are available at the club.
Entries close on Monday 19th March.