Friday, March 2, 2012

Juni Joe Leads Datec Summer Cup After Round 5

Datec summer cup this year has been hotly contested affair with no one claiming a clear leader’s spot after the fifth round on Saturday. At present, Juni Joe is the leader just hanging on 15 match points. Right behind the leader's heels on second place on equal 14 points are Waqa Bauleka and Filimone Jitoko.  The situation could change in the next two or three weeks.

There are three Saturdays left to play before an eventual winner, who has gained highest overall match points in eight weeks will be declared the winner of the Datec Summer Cup 2012.

In the meantime, another good field was recorded on Saturday, where one hundred and nine golf enthusiasts completed another 18 holes in the fifth round of Datec summer cup at Vatuwaqa.

A TFL executive, Marika Vada,who had scored very well in the 18 holes played 2 over, 74 won the overall gross prize on Saturday.

Kevin Maitava, 69 nett won Men’s A grade on countback from Robert Williams, who collected the second prize in the grade. The third prize in the grade was won by Roy Ugra, 70 nett.

The B grade for men was won by Graham Meecham, who shot 65 nett. The second and third prizes in the grade were won by Michael Andrews, 66 nett and Dennis Fong, 67 nett, respectively.

K Y Baek, who carded magnificent 58 nett received the best overall nett for the tournament and also won himself a first prize in the men’s C grade. In addition, he also won himself maximum 10 match points towards his campaign for the 2012 summer cup. Beljeet Singh, 62 nett and Juni Joe, 64 nett have also played extremely well to collect second and third prizes in the grade, respectively.

Claire Mariner, 70 nett and is current leader of the ladies summer cup, won a prize in the ladies’ silver division, while Gean Lim Kim won a prize in the ladies’ bronze division.

Jope Tuivanuavou  and Mark Swamy each won nearest-to-pin prizes for the second and sixteenth holes, respectively.

In the meantime, the sixth round of the Datec Summer cup will tee off 8.00 am to 1.30 pm on Saturday.