Wednesday, April 11, 2012


What a beautiful day for golf it was! The ANZ sponsored Fiji Golf Club season opening had attracted a large record field of two hundred and forty two golfers to the Vatuwaqa golf course on Saturday. It was a fun day for all those who had participated in the group event.      

The sponsors had provided plenty of refreshments in the fairways during the 18-hole progressive ambrose event.

The tournament has been marked as one of the major spectacles in the history of the Fiji Golf Club and its golf calendar.

ANZ Bank had promised at the prize giving ceremony that they would continue their sponsorship of the season opening event again next year.

In addition to minor prizes, there were six major team prizes on offer for teams who scored best overall nett.

The overall team winner of the event was David Butler’s team of David Butler, Simon Haper, Kaushal Tapoo and Yu Minimbi, who had scored 56.0 nett.

The second team winners were Dennis Fong, Keni Dakuidreketi, Billy Singh and Ashwin Singh, 56.5 nett.

Abid Hussein, Steve Yam, Manikam Narain and Dixon Seeto, 56.6 nett, won third prize while forth place went to Feizal Hannif, James Raman Jnr, Mark Swamy and Conway Begg on nett 56.8 nett.

The fifth prize was won by Ravinesh Goundar, Mohit Prasad, Sarita Goundar and Vijay Goundar, 57.5 nett, while team of Anasa Seruvatu, David Oakley, Jai Lal and Nigel Goundar, 57.5 nett won the sixth prize on countback.